|After many changes of name from Buchebroc in 1086 the present spelling
has been in use for the last 400 years.
There has been much expansion of the village in recent times, but
the old part of Bugbrooke retains many fine buildings.
There is a 16th Century packhorse bridge over the brook, a
tributary of the Nene, which meanders through the village.
Alongside the stream is a most attractive cricket pitch and
The Parish church of St Michael, built of Marlstone, and dating in part from the thirteenth century is a lovely building, and still open to visitors. The parkland to the rear of the church has been designated a millennium green, and is an oasis of tranquillity for this thriving settlement. Among the branches of non-conformism here, were the Quakers in the 17th century, many of whom were persecuted for their beliefs. Their meeting house still stands as Quakers cottage just off the high street.
Bugbrooke has always been on or near important lines of communication. Banbury Lane dates back to prehistoric times, Watling Street to the Romans, and much later the Canal, railway and motorway. The well known Heygates Mill on the River Nene is now the only traditional industry remaining, apart from farming. The first mill on this site was established about 1200 years ago.The village is well served with a number of shops, 2 pubs, 2 schools, numerous societies and sporting organisations. For the computer literate, Bugbrooke now has its own web site, where everything you could possibly wish to know about the village is available.
|Website of interest to give more information on the Village, www.bugbrooke-village.co.uk/